CHHH-Changes!

OK!! I am ready  to burst,  I have been sitting on this news for a few months. I thought it would be too premature to leak out to cyber world.  I can”t contain myself any longer.  There are some big changes on the horizons for this chocolate chick in China.  I am equally excited and scared. I accept a new position at an international school in China.  For two years I have debated whether or not to go back into classroom teaching. My last teaching position in the US wasn’t the best and knocked the wind out of my sails. It made me doubt if I was a good teacher. My  self esteem was ruined.  I gave my heart and soul to teaching and it ended up breaking my heart.  Why? Due to pettiness of the human nature. I don’t want to go into much information about what fueled me to leave teaching, it was and is personal. I will say that I was working in an unhealthy environment.

This actually is what propelled me into teaching abroad. I needed  to push a restart button in regards to my life. I knew I wanted to teach. It is what I was born to do. I didn’t want one bad  and rotten experience to spoil the whole bunch. My China teaching experience has been more favorable than that last teaching experience in the USA. I preferred teaching the university setting. It is what gave me back my love of   teaching. Still, I was petrified to go back to classroom teaching.  Fear that I wasn’t good enough. When I did try to apply, I was fearful to break a contract. So for the past two years, I let opportunities pass me by.  I watched as new friends came to China and got higher paying jobs and told me that it was not as high pressure as teaching back home.

I decided it was time for a change. I already have been revamping my health and working on my inner self. It was now time to focus on my professional growth. So I did it, I applied to Teaching Nomad(a foreigner owned recruiting company) I was placed and  found a good and high paying job immediately. The main problem is that I would have  to relocate.  I have already have built a good life in Hangzhou. I have great friends. I found a great gym with handsome trainers. My dog has a best friend here. It will be so hard to leave that behind.

So it is a bit bittersweet. I already asked the realtor to find an apartment close to a gym. Fitness is not something that I will give up due to moving.  It will be hard to find new friends because I can be shy around new people. My Oreo will really miss Odie but his mommy and daddy are getting a car so they can drive and visit us. I am also glad though to move on to a new adventure. So as one door closes another door is waiting to open and I will walk through that door with confidence and my head held high. It may not be a brighter future but one has  to take risks in life.

IMG_3882

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. murray1978
    May 30, 2015 @ 09:04:08

    Hi,

    I saw your blog on a Facebook group. Congratulations on the new job and good luck!

    Reply

  2. autumnashbough
    May 30, 2015 @ 16:51:24

    Oreo will find a new buddy, never fear! Also, the great thing about dogs is that they are firmly focused on the “now.” He won’t really remember or yearn for his old life the way you will. He will be too focused on new smells.

    Good luck!

    Reply

  3. msjailew
    May 30, 2015 @ 22:48:54

    Congratulations on your new opportunity. Once you step out into this international teaching world it’s hard to go back. I’m sure you’ll make friends, find a new gym (hopefully with cute trainers), and a new pal for your dog. Best of luck to you.

    Reply

  4. Michele
    May 31, 2015 @ 23:58:18

    so glad things are going well for you. Sounds so adventurous. Good luck

    Reply

  5. Michele Klatt Shkreli
    Jun 01, 2015 @ 00:00:22

    So glad things are going well for you. Good luck on your new adventure

    Reply

  6. Jocelyn - Speaking of China
    Jun 03, 2015 @ 09:34:33

    That’s exciting about your new position! You’re going to be amazing, Amber! You’ll have to let us all know where you’re going — keep us posted!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

