How I Met My Boyfriend

I had many readers ask me me how I met Leon. It wasn’t a chance meeting in the rain. Nor were there violins or birds chirping to signify our love. This is the new millennium not the 1940’s.

IMG_3784.PNG
We met through the power of technology. In China, they have some nifty social apps for your phone. I got introduced to Weixin, while I was still in the states. It is a great way to talk to people in China. Just make sure you get the international version(it’s in English) My favorite feature is the shake feature. If you are shaking your phone at the exact same time as someone else you can get their profile information.

I

IMG_3783.PNG
I am honestly on Weixin (wechat) more than I was ever on Facebook. Now that is scary, I didn’t meet my boyfriend on Weixin but I met other men from there. I even had a few dates after that nut ball Jason. Weixin is really more of a social app. I use it to keep in contact with my friends.

So, yes you can get dates from Weixin but I find that people are more interested in friendship on that app. Now let’s move on to Weixin’s evil cousin called Momo. Momo has the reputation of being the hook up app. It is like China’s Gone Wild.

IMG_3782-0.PNG
This is the dating app. Now some men on here have no rules of etiquette. It is like hi you are pretty look at my penis picture. For awhile a few of my friends were having a contest who could collect the most penis photos. In the beginning I only got can you teach me English messages. Then the penis came out!

I never really took Momo seriously. Well it was Momo after all. I did get plenty of dates on a Momo and the guys were actually nice except for one. They were all big men online but in person the total opposites. I definitely will post some of my favorite Momo dates in a separate post. Oh and a Momo has a creepy factor. You can find people based on location. I once had a guy on the street look at me and say , “Momo!” So yeah, I am noticeable on that app.

Well after awhile of dating, I got tired. I wanted a commitment. So I took a breather from Momo. This was when Leon contacted me. I had a post about my dog, he simply stated cute dog. I replied thank you.

IMG_3780.PNG
He didn’t have a photo up so, I thought nothing of it. He commented on a few my post. So eventually we started chatting more often. Then we exchanged Weixins and chatted daily online.

Leon is the opposite of Jason, where Jason was ashamed of me Leon was proud of me. Leon wanted to be in an interracial relationship. He is just that type of guy that prefers foreign women.

So as we talked more feelings grew and we knew we had to meet. So Leon came to visit me in Hangzhou. He lives in Wuhan. It isn’t that close, it is about 5 hours by the fast train.

I have to say we were smitten with each other. My dog likes him too. I don’t want everyone to think this is a fairytale ending. It is not, we have a lot of challenges to face. I went to visit him in Wuhan as well. That is another
Blog post.

Any of my readers looking to chat with Chinese men find the apps I mentioned. Just know that Momo no longer has an English version. I use the Chinese version, it is tough but just press buttons until you figure this out. It is good fun. My friend used Momo in America and found Chinese men there and went on a few dates. So I encourage you to use both apps they are loads of fun. You never know where you will find love.

IMG_3508.JPG

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. yamulticulturaljunkie
    Sep 05, 2014 @ 22:38:26

    omg you guys are adorable!

    Reply

  2. Shirley Naa-kowaa Martey
    Sep 14, 2014 @ 03:23:45

    This is such a beautiful post. All the best to you both!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

