Peanut the Puppy Died of Parvo

It has been hard for me to sit down and write a blog lately. I was suffering from severe writer’s block. also I had a traumatic even happen to me that made me become quite morose and and I just didn’t feel that I was emotionally ready to write a blog. I do hope that some of my loyal readers have stuck around, I was not  having a happy China Day that extended from one  days  to  over a month of depression

From the  title title  you can  garner the catalyst of that depression,. it was the  death of my adorable  puppy Peanut. Ever since  I left America  there  has  been an empty place  in  my  heart because I had  to leaving my baby, my best friend  and  my furry soul mate Bowie behind. It was a decision that  broke my heart. I love dogs and  I vowed  when the time  was right and I healed  enough that  I would  get  another  dog. I did not  get one  last  semester, because I was homeless  for  2 months  and traveled  around China.

When I returned back to my home, I decided  to get a  dog.  arranged  for my student Lexi to  find  a  dog for me. I gave  her lists of people  who had  dogs  available. She  found one  in the  Pet Shop and  showed me  his  picture. He was adorable. Oh and  he  was energetic too. He was small though. The pet show  boss said that the dog was given an Parvo shot. He  also  said  Peanut was 2 months. I think Peanut was younger about 5-6 weeks.

!

I miss you Peanut

Peanut was  such a  smart  dog and  I began to teach him how  to  use  the  litter  box. He was  catching on. Then i  noticed that his poop began to smell horrible and then I noticed  blood. He was still energetic  and  ate but I  decided to  take  him to the  vet. I did  a search on Parvovirus  and  prayed that it was  not that . Parvo has a high fatality rate in puppies. My heart sank when the  vet  told  me to get  another  dog. He  said  we could  try treatment but Peanut’s chances  were  slim.

Peanut died  withing five  days of me  getting him. I felt  like a failure. I felt cheated. He was an amazing little  dog. I just  wish that we had a  chance  to  continue  our  path onward  together. I cried for weeks. I really  fell in love  with Peanut from the  first time that I saw him. He made everyone that met him smile. at least he  experienced  love  in his  short life. The last time I saw him he was  wrapped up in my Liquid Kids T Shirt he  is eyes were so sad and they looked mine. He knew  he was dying. I cried and told him that I loved  him and I just wanted him free of  pain.

It took me  awhile, but I want another  dog in my life, to me  dogs represent  more than just  an animal. To me they  are your  family. Since, I do not have a husband ,boyfriend or children, I really want something to love and something  to love  me back.  i do have  friends though that really supported  me in my  time  of needs so I am loved.  The next  go round, I am  getting a  medium sized  more  sturdy dog. A dog that is  about a year old. I  Wish  me  luck  on my search. Peanut this blog is  dedicated to you.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. chocl8t
    Oct 01, 2013 @ 21:28:53

    Hi. I came across your blog on the FB group, Women of Color Living Abroad. I’m so sorry for your loss. As a fairly new pet owner, I fully understand how quickly you become attached to the four-legged fur babies. Hang in there and I’ll keep you in my thoughts. *hugs*

    Reply

  2. thefrocker
    Oct 04, 2013 @ 03:47:56

    Oh gosh, I’m so sorry for your loss. Pets really become a member of our families… we let them into our hearts, and it really hurts when they pass. I hope that time helps to heal this wound. *hug*

    Reply

  3. Lauren
    Oct 04, 2013 @ 12:35:27

    I’m sorry to hear about your puppy! He was so cute! I’m thinking there was some sort of mishandling or lack of sanitation at the shop if its dogs are walking out with parvo! Any way you can adopt or purchase from a reputable breeder instead?

    Reply

    • aquariusamber
      Oct 04, 2013 @ 13:33:21

      He was a cutie. Things are different in China. The way animals are viewed very different than in America. They have parvo shots I just came across a bad shop owner. I couldn’t find a breeder at all, I am sure I didn’t ask the right people though. You live and learn.

      Reply

  4. beaufortninja
    Oct 23, 2013 @ 11:40:15

    Sorry to hear that. I had a kitten that died similarly. It’s a difficult lesson to learn. Never get a pet from a shop. The sellers will say anything to get you to take them. If you want a pet, get one from a trusted friend or student.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

