My Insight on China

It  has  almost been 5 months  since  stepped  off the  plane and began my  new life in China.  I will admit that I was scared. I am  so  glad though that I took the  chance.  China  has  changed  me  in so many ways.  I lost  myself  in America but I am rediscovering myself as I stay longer in China.

Many  people  ask if I miss America. I do in some  sense but not in others. I miss the  ease  of  being  able  to converse  with people. I miss my dog, my church and  my niece Caity.  I miss Lisa and  her  children as well.  I do sometimes reflect on the  friends  that I left  behind. I knew  though in my heart back home that living in America was not  my destiny. My destiny lies elsewhere. Is  my destiny in China?… not  sure  yet but I am adapting to life in China rather quickly and I don’t feel the feelings  of  unrest here  as  I did  in the  states.

Did  my  life in China turn out exactly as I planned? Hmm not really. Heck I wanted  to step off the plane and find  my  soul mate a get  married  and  have  a baby.  Then  hang out  with Esther and Jo(black women who married Chinese men and  live in China) as  my married BFFs.  It  would  be  great we  could  get manis and  pedis and  sip on mimosas.  Hmm I still have  a couple  of  years though and  maybe I can have a daughter  and arrange  a marriage  between her  and  Esther’s new baby boy.

I was  being unrealistic  in my  time frame, I wanted  it now! I am sure  Mr. Right will come  into my life soon. There is  still tons  of  things  that I have  to improve  upon with myself before I am  fully  ready  to  receive love. That is  what  my  first ill attempted  love  affair in China  taught me. You can’t  force  and orchestrate  love. My  destiny is  still an unwritten book. I will enjoy and  be  ready  for this  adventure  known  as life.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. netty
    Jul 01, 2013 @ 13:13:09

    Looking good, honey! I think China is definitely doing you some good! Please continue to blog. You’re very inspiring and I am rooting for you! Don’t worry about the man. God, has everything worked out for you already and that guy is gonna be lucky to have you. Stay great, beautiful!

    Reply

  2. Yvette Miguez
    Jul 01, 2013 @ 13:49:15

    I’m so happy that your working on you! You look so happy in the video. Keep blogging:)

    Reply

  3. Huang Sin Leong
    Jul 01, 2013 @ 14:37:56

    nice to see the new video from you

    Reply

  4. Jiani Yu Williams
    Jul 02, 2013 @ 01:00:08

    I’m so please that you, Jo and other Black women are in China and doing ground breaking work. I had a plan 15 years ago to do what you and Jo are doing. It was my dream to teach TEFL once my daughter graduated from high school and went off to college. Back then, you could count how many American Blacks on one hand. On my last trip there I was proud to see more Blacks going there. As far as me teaching, I think I may be a little too old to be accepted for a teaching position now. But I still have dreams of returning to China and living there for sometime when I retire. Perhaps, if you and Jo are still there, we can all get together, drink tea and watch China from our eyes. YOLO, enjoy to the fullest my sister.

    Reply

    • aquariusamber
      Jul 02, 2013 @ 02:10:45

      I have two colleagues one is 63 and the other is 58 and they teach here. Try universities. There are many who come to teach in their late forties and in their 50’s. The criteria is that you have to be under 65. Let me know when you return, I would love to meet in person.

      Reply

  5. Lauren
    Jul 05, 2013 @ 12:50:48

    Hey, I found your blog through one of the facebook groups. It’s great! I’m enjoying reading it so far. I wanted to learn more about life in China, since I might go there next!

    Reply

  6. Jaime Perry
    Jul 07, 2013 @ 23:48:42

    Amber,

    I’m so happy things are working out for you in China! It’s incredibly inspiring hearing about you realizing that sometimes stepping out on faith is just what you need to do! We miss you so much at Liquid, but are so glad that God is working through you!!
    Love and Blessings,
    Jaime
    P.S. You look FANTASTIC!! Keep up the great work!!

    Reply

  7. Huang Sin Leong
    Jul 16, 2013 @ 16:16:43

    Keep on, Amber! Your yacht is heading in a positive way^^

    Mr. right is will be your guiding star:)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

