Night Out in Nanchang :The Remix

photo courtesy of www.verynanchang.com

photo courtesy of http://www.verynanchang.com

If  you read my last post, my big highly anticipated  night in Nanchang was a  washout. Instead of hiding my head in the  sand, collecting cats,and  learning  how  to knit(I do want to  learn though in all actuality) I decided to give nightlife  in Nanchang another  chance.  We had  a holiday in China called Laborer’s Day, so I had  more  free time then  usual. I asked  my brother  from another mother Jason if  we  could  go out again.

He called The Drunken Irishman. Now  here is a rarity. The drunken Irishman  did  not  want to  go out! What did  hell freeze over? When does a party animal want to to stay at home? Apparently  he was  too tired  out  because  he  has  been out every night this week. We were not liking the bar from before. I didn’t feel like it was  an inviting place. Jason got  struck  down. Now  since  his bromance partner  did not  want to come out Jason was ready to say no. Jason and  I  both would  have   ended up getting lost in Nanchang.

Jason then called Cowboy.  My loyal readers may  remember Cowboy  from my  other blog post  about my the  Chinese drinking game. I just adore  Cowboy, he  is a fun, honest and easy  to be  around. Cowboy brought  his  friend, who had  an extremely low English level. His  friend  was  dressed to the T’s, a nice  looking chap. He liked  dancing, so he and  Jason could do a stripper  dance to lure the  ladies in(NOT)

We took the white van into Xin Jiang then hailed a taxi. Ok this  was  my first  true  experience  with racism in China. I know that many Chinese  are  racist but they  never  say it. Well, the  cabbie as he  drove  with us in the  cab  said it Chinese that he  hated Africans. This was translated to me by Cowboy. I  got a bit upset, Cowboy apologized  to me and  explained that some  Chinese  are like that  and  live in a very limited world. Hindsight 20/20 I should have  told Cowboy to inform the driver that I am an American not and African! Just  ugh, I hate racist!

I was given a free Survival Chinese phrasebook by the bar owner

I was given a free Survival Chinese phrasebook by the bar owner

I got over it because  Jason sat in the front seat and was  using all the Chinese  he knew to talk with the cabbie. The  cabbie was using his very limited English to talk to Jason. It was funny so that it  brought a  smile to my face. I hope the  cabbie  will sometimes  change his  mind  about  black people. He  was  not a bad  person. He  just  needs to learn to  judge  people by their  actions   not  by their  skin  color.

The cabbie  took us to  an area by the Bai Bridge that had  bars. First we were  hungry  so we roamed  around  looking for food. We finally ended up getting hamburgers. Oh in  China anything between a bun is called  hamburgers. In the USA it is  called a chicken sandwich. This  was the  same  area that we  went to before. The bars  were  either dead or too expensive. It was looking like a wash again! At this  point, I  did  not  want  to  throw in the  white flag. I wanted  to  go out. I was ready to say  at  least we can  go  do KTV. We called the Drunken  Irishman. He told us  of another place that was  closer to downtown Nanchang called Bossa Nova. I heard of Bossa Nova it is advertised  on VeryNanchang, It  looked  fun.

We took a taxi to the bar.  Jason was whining because  he  saw  other  foreigners. He wanted to  go  to a bar that was more  locals  because  he  wants  to pick up women. In China white foreign men are like Willy Wonka’s golden ticket. It is way too much competition when vying for a Chinese female. I told  him  sometimes  it  is more fun to relax and  kick back with your  mates.  It is  not always  about  trying to find love, but enjoying the time  with  people  who love you.  It takes the  edge  off.

photo courtesy of www.verynanchang.com

photo courtesy of http://www.verynanchang.com

The place was empty  but  we  were  greeted so warmly by the  owner. He was a foreigner  from Brazil. He hugged  us  all and  since it was  our  first time at his  establishment  he treated  us  to a free shot  of tequila. Then we  were seated. I love  the  ambiance  of  the  place.  It was  very  homey and there  were  flags  from every country. We got a  drink menu and to my delight I saw that they had  sangria.  Jason being  cheap  just wanted  beers. I am  not a  big  beer drinker  beer  bloats  me. I told them I would  pay  for the pitcher of  Sangria it was 120 kuai a pitcher, so I bought  two. None  of the lads  ever  tried Sangria. They  bought it  over  and the guys  were it was  a girl’s  drink and  said it was not stronger enough. Oh little  did these boys know that  hidden secret of  sangria. It may taste  all sweet and girly but it slowly packs a  punch.  So lol they  got  drunk  off of  it! SWEEEEET!!!!

Jason bought the  next  pitcher  but it was  another drink that was  yellow and  creamy that I actually preferred it to the sangria. We were  feeling  giddy. Then our amiable host  came  a serenaded  us!  I  just love this guy! He sang  for  every  table, I knew  many of the  songs. I was singing  along as  were Jason and Cowboy. I requested La Bamba, and  he  sang it. Everyone was  clapping and  cheering. I was having  such a grand time. I was chair dancing!

We then had  to head out as  I was heading out a  Chinese party  was  heading in. One   guy  said  he  was  a colonel so I saluted  him. We  then  were  talking and they ended  up buying me  a beer. The group were speaking to me in English  and  we were saying cheers. One guy  took particular  interest in me, so we  continued  talking. My friends were  waiting  by the  door and Jason was  tired.  The bar  was ready to close. So I ended up  getting  the   guy that I was speaking to mobile number.  He wanted  me to come  back tomorrow night but  it would be  very hard  because , Wanli is very  far away from Downtown Nanchang.

This  I have  to say was  a much better  experience  that before. Any night that I end up  with a guy’s  digits is  a win situation. This was  the  first digits  that I scored  in China! Booyah!!!!!!I was not 100% interested in this  guy but I just want to make friends  and meet  people, so why not? I am definitely  going to come back to Bossa Nova again. I was  also invited to go to a Brazilian Barbecue place  called Obe Obe by another patron of the  bar on Monday. I am going to drag Jason and  Cowboy there  with me  one day 🙂  Wo hen xihuan zheli.

My first digits in China  China? Maybe I should bronze them?

My first digits in China China? Maybe I should bronze them?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. netty
    Jun 03, 2013 @ 15:23:56

    I’m glad u had a good time. Fyi I’ve been stalking ur blog. I love it! Can’t wait for the next post 😉

    Reply

  2. Big dragon
    Feb 27, 2014 @ 12:57:42

    So where is a good bar? Haha

    Reply

Leave a Reply

