Shop Til You Drop

Check out my pretty new dishes. Aren't they very girly :)

Check out my pretty new dishes. Aren’t they very girly 🙂

Jason has  become  my shopping buddy, He  is like extremely patiently with my disorganized way  of  shopping. I am basically all over the place. The mission today was  to get a toaster oven.  I miss  baking things. I never  even though of the joys  of  an oven until I did not have one. Also I am having a dinner party tomorrow so I wanted to make  garlic  bread. A toaster oven is a very useful for  an expat .

My toaster oven

My toaster oven

Jason and I took the  white van over  to Auchan(my  favorite  store) While we were  looking at the toaster oven, 2  employees rushed to help us. Then they took the  toaster oven and  opened the box and  walked away.  Jason told me they were checking to see if it works. This is  when I had  my WTF moment. In the USA they  don’t plug up and  check to see if the  product  works. In the US you buy  the  product and if it does  not  work  you return the  product or  use  your  warranty. Jason said that they do the  same thing in the Philippines.

This is one Chinese Way that  I really appreciate. So  guess what? My original product  did  not work when they tried  turning it on. It was not heating at all. The oven was not warm. Three other  employees rushed  over  to assist. So there  were  five women trying to get this  oven to work.  This was  the last one of that model. One  of the  women rushed over to get the demo model. They  plugged it in and this one heated up quickly. I decided to take the demo model, I didn’t like the  other  brand that they had. Now I just  have to figure out Celsius. This one  has pictures  and  tell you  what   temperature  and how long to cook certain foods. It is idiot proof.

As we were  walking away  we  noticed that the employee plugged the  original one back in and it started  smoking! It was defective. Thank goodness, the Chinese  test products  before you buy them! That is one  practice  I think we  should  adopt back home  in the  States. On a side note kudos to the  customer  service  at this  store. It is  top notch. That is  one  of the  main reasons  that I like Auchan over Walmart.  I have  to say perhaps there is  a unseen code that Walmart employees  adhere  to that states that they  should ignore  customers, be  rude  and text. The Walmart  employees  at the one I went  to are just like back home!

Making a list and  check it twice

Making a list and check it twice

Next I had  to buy  some things  for the dinner party. This  time I came  armed  with a list, I didn’t want to drive Jason too insane. I am not a list person, but it did  keep me  a bit  more centered.  I went off the  list a bit, I bought a  hamper. Oh and  I  forgot to add in  plates, bowls  and cups. I bought salad  tongs  as  well. Oh  and towels to  wrap the  dishes in. Plus I needed  more towels. I forgot a  big  bowl to  serve the  salad in, so I am going to look in the  local store  on  campus  for that. I also bought  some  wine.

Between my purchases  and Jason’s purchases we realized there  was  no way that we were going to fit all of this  stuff in the white van. We also would  have  to hoof it back to our  apartments. It is  about a 15-20 minute walk from the  back to where we  live on campus, so we decided  to take  a taxi. We hailed one. There was a taxi driver passing us,  he  had a another  person in the car he  stopped  and backed up into oncoming traffic. Jason , who speaks some Chinese  told him where we  were  going. We stepped in the cab. This  was the cabbie from hell. If  he  was born in the  US he  would have become a Nascar driver! OMG he drove fast. I have  been in other  taxis  before but never have a ridden in one  where  he drives like a manic. He made a U-turn  so quickly that you could hear his tires squealing! Oh and  he broke out in spontaneous song and there was no  music.

Speed Racer  nearly  missed the  back entrance to the college. He was  going  close to  90 miles an hour. Jason screamed for  him  to stop that. He made the  most abrupt  stop and I was nearly thrown off  my seat!  He  drove  in the  gate, there  were  no  guard  so he  did  not have to leave his taxi license with the  guard(Oh  something  bizarro, the  dude  had  two different taxi license with photos. Once we  got in the cab he switched his license. That was all kinds  of  sketchy) He  drove  around the  campus  doing at least 60 miles per hour! Students  were  walking and  had to jump out of the  way! What a crazy  cabbie! When he  stopped in front of the apartment the tires screeched again. I was  glad to be out of that  cab!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. blkdragonlady
    Apr 15, 2013 @ 17:43:58

    sounds like the ride from hell! Some of the drivers in China will scare the hell out of you. I had one do the same thing during the middle of rush hour! I love shopping in China. Last time I went my husband and daughter had to pull me out of the store, lol.

    Reply

    • aquariusamber
      Apr 16, 2013 @ 03:04:50

      I have had some nutty drivers. Oh or even better the horn honkers. I had one driver that was having a love affair with his horn. He honks and there is no other car on the road. Someone told me a honk in China is status symbol. I forgot to add that he started singing out of the blue and there was no music. Oh do you have a blog? I would love to read it 🙂

      Reply

  2. Re-Keisha
    Feb 07, 2015 @ 12:53:57

    I found your blog from the Expat Facebook group. This post had me cracking up. LOL

    Reply

Leave a Reply

