Peter Pan Syndrome Solved….Sorta

Anyone that knows  me well knows that I am  not the  most  mature person for my age. I have been accused  of being very naive and  immature. I think I was just coddled too much, so there are  many occasions where , I just  don’t  act like an adult couple that with being  lazy, ditzy and  being a procrastinator you have Amber all rolled up in confusing ball of chaos. I think this  is  why I feel  more comfortable  with younger men, we are in the  same emotional field.

If Yan Can Cook , so can Amber. It might be edible though.

If Yan Can Cook , so can Amber. It might be edible though.

I would rather eat cookies  for  breakfast then cook myself  breakfast. I know  very bad, it use takes less effort. Or I use when I was motivated  enough was to go to the  supermarket and  buy Nutrigrain bars. Mostly though, I was a regular  at Dunkin Donuts. They even had my order  ready  for me  when they  saw  my  car pull up. Two pumpkin donuts and a large pumpkin coffee semi sweet, When  that was not in season it was a large vanilla  coffee light and sweet with a raisin bran muffin. I would  scarf this in the car.

Iron Chef Amber. I wonder if I will end  up losing a finger?

Iron Chef Amber. I wonder if I will end up losing a finger?

Lunch, I never  really ate, I had only a 30 minute  lunch so i had  snacks in my desk. By the  time I got home  from my miserable  job , I was starved  and  exhausted. I would devour  chips then call for  take out. I was living like a 20 something straight out of college. The mystical thing called a stove never turned on. When it did, the  smoke detector went off  because I burnt dinner!!!! I was so bad that I use to have  to order  food  for the  dog  so I could reach the delivery minimum.

I vowed that I would  cook for  myself, sometimes. I haven’t been able to do this because I was living in a hotel for  my first month stay in China. Also the food in the cafeteria was very good and  cheap. I am miraculously losing weight. I eat baozi, hard boiled egg, or rice porridge  for breakfast, then  veggies and  some meat or tofu for lunch and dinner. I am snaking on fruit. sometimes .I buy  steamed break. I also have been drinking lots of green tea.

Still though, grown up prepare food  for themselves in a kitchen. I finally decided that I was going to cook. I dragged Jason, my neighbor to town with me. He was bored so he  had  nothing else better to do.  My mission was to get pots and  pans. My goal was to cook dinner tonight. I so went ADHDas I always  do when I shop. I never  make a list, I have  a general idea about what I need. I was ready to buy sneakers because they were men shoes that looked girl, I ended up buying a shoe rack. I am going to make folks  take off their  shoes when they  visit. Then I decided I needed  lotion, deep conditioner, face moisturizer.

Pretty purple shoe rack. I only have two pairs of  shoes!!!

Pretty purple shoe rack. I only have two pairs of shoes!!!

Then I was looking at  dog leashes  and dog food.  Jason was like, um the pots  and  pans  are this  way. He  was cracking up because I wanted  everything purple or  a pretty color. He  said  shopping with me  was hilarious  because I was all over the place. I did   find the pots  and pans. I also brought a  wok(come on  now I am in China) a cutting board, oh and  a knife set and  a steamer. Maybe  I can make  my own steamed buns and  steamed veggies. I  got cutesy chopsticks too. Oh and  a wooden  spatula.

Jason even helped  me  carry my  stuff. All he   brought was milk and  cheese. Oh and  it was  raining too. However, though I brought all this  nice expensive  cooking gadgets, Check out my fridge. Barren, um  I have  not gotten groceries. Ummm oopsies!!!!!! I do have  a bag of frozen dumplings in the freezer.  Oh and  cucumber. I forgot olive oil to cook with! So I did  do one adult thing today but  my flakiness reigns supreme.

My barren fridge

My barren fridge

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Shawna Brackens
    Apr 03, 2013 @ 23:02:15

    Amber, I so love….your blog. I am considering a move to China in the immediate future so this is rather enlightening! Thanks   Shawna Teacher

    Reply

    • aquariusamber
      Apr 04, 2013 @ 01:25:57

      Oh let’s keep in touch. I used a recruiter to get my job. My school is going to need an English teacher fir the fall term. I also can put you in contact with my recruiter so you can see your options. I like teaching in a university setting

      Reply

  2. jamasian
    Jul 04, 2013 @ 05:49:27

    You like purple~~! I looooove purple!! I was so happy to see that Chinese people enjoy purple too! No problems with people asking why I bought purple pants, skirts, shirts, dresses, etc. Oh China, I miss thee! haha

    Reply

Leave a Reply

