The Chang Min Chronicles

Wow,I finally am here!!! I am in China and this is my first post about China while I am in China! How cool is that? I arrived on February 14th and my boyfriend was there to meet me. It was so exciting to finally meet him. . I am falling more and more in love with him each passing day. He is such a kind and sweet man. He loves me dearly and does such sweet little things. I have indeed found my other half 🙂 These next few blog post will be about my week in Shanghai before I start to teach in Nanchang. It will also read like a love story and I hope to be a beacon of hope to women and men who feel loneliness creeping it. My story says one must never stop. Both Chang Min and I met each other later in life. We both thought we were destined to be alone. Good found a way for our two souls to unite.

Lovers united at last!

Lovers united at last!

When I saw him at the airport as I said my finally found a home. Chang Min said he lived near the airport. Hmm we took about three different trains. Oh did I mention that the killer luggage attacked again? First victim was m y dear sweet niece, then it was my amazing boyfriend.The incident was also on an escalator. Luckily Chang Min was ok.  I think I have  a great makings a a horror movie “Attack of the Killer Luggage” Taking two big bags  of luggage on Shanghai’s metro system is probably not the  best idea. My dear sweet boyfriend would not let me carry one bag. What a gentleman! Ladies, I really lucked up on having Chang Min as mine.

The Shanghai Metro system is like the New York City subways times twelve and on Ecstasy. It was intense the best visualization that I can make is thinks of a sardines in a can. I have  never seen such a packed train and this was not during rush hour. I got to lean against my honey so that was a good part. Oh and the killer luggage went loose when we transferred to a less crowded train.

Finally we arrived at his flat. It s so funny that I arrived on Valentine’s Day. Chang Min is  my first and forever Valentine. We spent a great evening getting to know one another even more. As I write these words I am falling more and more in love with this man in each passing day. I am keeping this blog PG folks.  So that is  all I will say on that front.

The next day Chang Min made me breakfast of tofu, rice porridge and veggies. He also went out to get some yummy street food. He bought pan fried dumplings  with pork and vinegar inside. He also got a crepe like breakfast sandwich with scallion and eggs  and maybe red bean paste in it. Oh my gosh I love Shenjianbao (dumplings) and Jiang Bing(crepe sandwich) ! All of the food was so good but there is something so enduring about eating breakfast prepared by the man that you love and a man who loves you. My guy  cooks, cleans and sews yup top that ladies!

We then went sightseeing in Shanghai .in the downtown district. We went to a park by the water and took a stroll. It was packed with people. We then walked to East Landing Road. Shanghai has many western chain stores like  Coldstones, Starbucks, KFC,  Forever 21, Apple and even a Dairy Queen! However I am more interested in the  true Shanghai, . My ankle was protesting me all the walking so we took a sightseeing bus.  I was truly a n amazing experience to see Shanghai from an elevated position. I could see the vibrancy and the hustle and bustle of the crowds. I saw another black person too! He was a tall African man that walked like a king. I saw a second black male later that day but he ignored me and pretended that I didn’t exist. Whatever dude!

Oh ok my ADHD got away with me there. Ok so we got off the bus and went to a Buddhist temple. I am a Christian and my Chang Min is a devout Buddhist. I am the type of Christian who loves and appreciates other religions. I am not out to convert everyone to my religion. So I respect Min’s religion as he respects mine.  I have to say that watching the Buddhist pray to their city gods was quite a beautiful experience. There was lots of smoke and incense. We prayed together for a prosperous relationship and for safe journeys.

Praying at a Buddhist temple

Praying at a Buddhist temple

We then went to get dinner. It was a buffet, Ok anyone that truly knows me knows that buffets and Amber don’t usually mix. Every time I go to a buffet, I get food poisoning. Even when I was a vegetarian and went to a Vegetarian buffet. I decided to give it a try. The food looked good, I stuck with basics like chicken wings and udon. Then I got braver and got more diverse food like this fried eel and pumpkin cakes. I also drank 3 glasses of yogurt milk. Then I saw the spicy chicken on a stick. Meat on a stick fascinates me. So I had one spicy chicken on a stick.

Then I had to use the bathroom. Well guess what? It was an infamous squat toilet! I was actually excited. I have heard tales from expats about the squat toilets. After using a squat toilet, I have to say it was not so bad, Actually it is very hygienic. This toilet had toilet paper in it too and a door on the stall. So maybe this was a pampered potty experience. It was not degrading as some westerners claim.

After dinner we took the flat back to his flat. We were both exhausted. We slept for hours. Then I awoke and I felt sick. Chang Min said his stomach was bothering him. Oh guess what. I had food poisoning and it was my second day in China! Go me. I will never have meat on a stick again. Jo said that and the yogurt milk got me sick. The bummer part is that we were suppose to travel to Hangzhou on Saturday to meet up with Jo and I was so exhausted from being sick that we had to cancel. I so wanted to write a blog on meeting Jo finally. I won’t be able to see her until the summer now. We wanted to pay tribute to Jo because she set us up. Darn that meat on a stick!!!!!!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Krissy
    Feb 20, 2013 @ 04:59:02

    Sorry you got sick, but sounds like your having a great time and your boyfriend is a total hottie!!!

    Reply

  2. lifebehindthewall
    Feb 20, 2013 @ 10:40:28

    Hey girl… I told you to bring that Imodium…. people never listen. (smile) .. I am glad that you and Min have hit is off and I have started to look and see what wedding song I have to sing at your wedding….(smile). Have a wonderful the rest of your visit in Shanghai.. and dont worry … you can come and visit me anytime…. I am not going anywhere….

    Reply

  3. Michelle
    Feb 21, 2013 @ 00:33:20

    Awwww, you go girl! Congrats…uhmmm Jo, do I need to come to China?!

    Reply

  4. SweetTea Cockrell
    Feb 21, 2013 @ 02:55:56

    i love your story.. good luck over there.. and keep posting..

    Reply

  5. Adia Carter
    Mar 07, 2013 @ 17:57:52

    Aww wow what an adventure! Where did you and your boyfriend meet if you don’t mind me asking 😉 oh and how old are you?

    Reply

    • aquariusamber
      Mar 08, 2013 @ 01:07:01

      I met my boyfriend through a mutual friend, before I arrived in China. He fell in love with me as soon as he saw my picture. For me it was through his kindness and devotion that made me fall in love. Also he is a good looking guy . We talked on WeChat before i came to China. I am 39 years old, so I am no spring chicken.

      Reply

      • Adia Carter
        Mar 08, 2013 @ 01:08:30

        Aww wow that’s sooo sweet:) good for u that you found a great man who really loves and cares about you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

