Daddy….I’m Moving to China

I am  so chicken, I have  not  told my dad that I am moving to China yet. I am so not sure  how  he  would react. I really  don’t want him  to be  sad or  worried. I don’t want  him  to feel that I am abandoning him. I love him very much, but I am  living a  half life here. My dad, well he is is hard  to  talk  to  sometimes. Things  have  to be handled  delicately. My  dad is  also very hilarious. I decided  to call him on Thanksgiving just  to see if this was the right time  to tell him. I said that I would tell him after I signed my contract. Well that happened two weeks ago. Below is basically how the conversation went down.

Conversation with Dad on Thanksgiving

Me: I have to tell you something, but I don’t want to tell you on the phone. I am going to try to come and see you in January or December
Dad:Is You Ok?
Me: I just am have a life changing moment in a good way.
Dad: You’re pregnant!
Me: No dad, I’m not married. I want to do it the right way. I’m a Christian
Dad: You’re getting married!
Me: No, I wish maybe someday.
Dad: Wait you said in January or December:Aren’t you working?
Me:Well that is part of the news.
Dad:Oh Lordy. LORDY!LORDY!
Me:Dad, God is with me. That job made me sad, it wasn’t healthy for me. I gained 60 pounds while working there.I quit my job, I had a job offer for December 5th but I found  out it was  not a good school.I have a job in February though. Just need to find something in between.

Dad: Don’t  bring your  dog here( My dad hates animals)

Me: I will board him when I drive  out  to see you, If I can’t make it I will tell you over the phone

Ok so someone gave me wise advice, I have to go visit him to break the news. I don’t know how to tell him that I am moving to China and already signed the contract and am moving in February. all the lab work came back so medically I am in the green. Any advice would be helpful. If this keeps up. I am going to rename this blog Chocolate Chicken in China. I dedicate the below song to me.

 

Leave a Reply

