Life is like a Box of Chocolate Filled with Nuts

It has been a couple of weeks  since  my last blog.  Well loads of things happened. My life was like a roller coaster baby!  Oh and I so do hate roller coasters. I was all geared up to head to Guiyang China on December 5th. This procrastinator even bought a ticket on time. I gave my teaching job 60 days notice. I was ready to go. I was never sent a contract. Bid red flags! I had my suspicions about that school. They were dragging their  heels and  not being cooperative with my recruiter.

I was promised a Z visa, then told  to get an L visas then we heard nothing. I found a terrible review about the school. I actually had to use  my Inspector Gadget deduction skills to figure out that the school in the review was the school that I was going to, I won’t spend time slandering the school, I just tell all future English teachers Google Google Google schools abroad! Also remember that that is the posters opinion and may not happen to you.

So now, I was basically screwed, I had a one way plane ticket to Guiyang, no job  in Guiyang and no job back home  because I gleefully resigned from that position. Basically I am screwed.  Thus begins the mad scramble job search. I was only  focusing in Guiyang , because I had a ticket there. I  found  some but they never contacted me back. I guess they weren’t chocolate lovers. At the  same  time  my recruiter was searching as well. Her search was   for  other areas. It looked like I was not going to got  on December 5th.

This is when I decided search on all the the places to get TEFL jobs like echinacities.com  and the  holy grail Dave’s ESL Cafe, which is like the Walmart for prospective and veteran ESL teachers.  I sent out 50 emails in one night. I got 6 replies back all from recruiters. I interviewed with one big named franchise in China, a small language center, and my recruiter got  me an interview with a medical university in Nanchang. I also was scheduled to conduct 2 more interviews for franchised schools. Well all my search is over God placed in my heart where I should be. I knew that it was the right place as I was interviewing. Oh and  you will have to wait til my  next post to see. Don’t  you love cliffhangers.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. beaufortninja
    Mar 30, 2013 @ 01:21:21

    What was the name of the school that was jerking you arouns? The same thing happened to me but I needed a jobs quick and had to take it. Never work for World English. Sometime after I quit the employees mutinied.

    Reply

    • aquariusamber
      Mar 30, 2013 @ 12:35:55

      I have gorgotten the name, I only knew the Chinese name and when I goggled it, I found out how horrible the school is and cut my ties. It was once called The Goldfinger Training School. Gooog;e and behold the shadiness of the school.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

